Français  |  English
     
 

Yannick Robert is a French guitar player with a very unique finger playing technique and a very melodic phrasing.

Born in Brittany, north-west part of France, he starts playing guitar at the age of 14, after having played accordion and celtic instruments (bagpipe, bombard, Irish whistle...).
This is the beginning of the celtic influence we will find in his future projects. His first years of cassical guitar and finger-picking are determinant for the development of his very personal finger technique.

He starts studying at the CIM of Paris (he will be award-winning of the National jazz contest of La Défense in 1982), then he goes to Guitar Institute of Technology (GIT) in Hollywood in 1985 and 1986. He will meet there Scott Henderson, Joe Pass, Robben Ford, but also Belgian drummer André Charlier and bass-player Benoît Vanderstraeten with whom he will set up a trio and record his first album “Le Pendule”. (Aurophon)

 
 

He plays then in different Festivals and european scenes (Germany, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Monaco ..), mainly in trio, with drummers André Charlier, Franck Agulhon, Alain Gozzo and bass-players Benoît Vanderstraeten, Daniel Yvinec, Marc-Michel Lebévillon.

Since 1990 Yannick teaches from time to time at CMCN, now MAI (Music Academy International). In 1992 he is endorsed by Ibanez guitars, which collaborates with him to build a Fretless signature model. He is invited to participate at the recording of CDs “Fretless Guitar Masters” (Guitar Nine Records) and “Village of the Unfretted” (Unfretted Records).
He is considered since then as a reference in the Fretless guitar world.

 
 

In 1992 he is invited to play at the Vittel guitar festival, where he performs a piece called “240 cordes de fièvre”, for 40 guitar-players,ordered by French Culture ministry.
He plays there a concert with Scott Henderson. In 1994, he performs in Cannes Music Passion Festival with Alain Caron, Michel Cusson, Jean-Marc Jafet, André Ceccarelli.

In 1995, he becoms teaching director of the Ibanez guitar schools, the first red of that kind in France, which counts today 28 schold in the country. In the same time he participates in many seminars and masterclasses, and he writes a lot of methods. He is today collection director at ID Musique, Lemoine et Carish publishing.

In 1998, he records a duet album with bass-player Benoît Vandertsraeten, “Dix Cordes de Nuit” (dist. Guitar Euroshop). In 2000 he tours in Canada with vibraphonist Peter Appleyard. In 2001 he set up a new quartet with André Charlier, Daniel Yvinek and sax-player Bobby Rangell, with who he records “Maid of the Mist” (dist. Guitar Euroshop).

 
 

Since 2003, he tours with Franck Agulhon, Benoît Vandertsraeten and records “Vaci Utca” (Muséa Records), an album that gathers celtic and jazz-fusion influences. Yannick is one the rare musicians to have explored and played “Celtic Jazz”.

 
 

He sets up then the "When pop goes to Jazz" trio, with a repertory of pop/rock songs arrangments, with upright bass-player Rémy Chaudagne and drummer Jean-Marc Robin; Then the "Urban Celtic" band with Franck Agulhon, Benoît Vanderstraeten and the amazing recorder player Benoît Sauvé.

In 2009 and 2010 he tours with sax-player Céline Bonacina and her “Alefa Quartet”. In 2010 he starts his new project “The Blues & Beyond Quartet”, with harmonicist Sébastien Charlier, bass-player Dominique di Piazza and drummer Yoann Schmidt. Their first album “La danse du chat” is out since september 2011, and the second one “Echec et Malt”.recorded at Peter Gabriel's Real World Studios since november 2013. They begin touring through Europe, Russia, Indian Ocean and Asia.

In 2012 he performs at the cine-concert “The Artist” with The Strasbourg symphonic orchestra and the composer Ludovic Bource on piano.

Yannick Robert est un guitariste de jazz et fusion français, qui se caractérise par une technique exclusive de jeu aux doigts et un phrasé très mélodique.

Originaire de Bretagne, il commence la guitare à l'âge de 14 ans, après avoir pratiqué l'accordéon et divers instruments celtiques (cornemuse, bombarde, flûte irlandaise…). De là est née l'influence celtique qui sera présente dans ses futurs projets. Ses premières années de guitare classique et de finger-picking seront déterminantes pour la technique de jeu aux doigts qu'il a développée par la suite.

Son itinéraire passe ensuite par le Centre d'informations musicales (CIM) de Paris (il devient lauréat du Concours National de jazz de la Défense en 1982), puis par le Guitar Institute of Technology (GIT) du Musicians Institute à Hollywood en 1985 et 1986. Il y fera des rencontres essentielles : Scott Henderson, Joe Pass, Robben Ford, mais aussi le batteur André Charlier et le bassiste Benoît Vanderstraeten avec qui il fondera un premier trio à son retour et enregistrera son premier album, “Le Pendule”. (Aurophon)

 
 

Il se produit ensuite dans différents festivals et scènes d'Europe (Allemagne, Italie, Russie, Espagne, Suisse, Monaco...), principalement en trio, avec des batteurs comme André Charlier, Franck Agulhon, Alain Gozzo, et des bassistes comme Benoît Vanderstraeten, Daniel Yvinec et Marc-Michel Lebévillon.

Depuis 1990 Yannick travaille comme professeur intervenant au CMCN, devenu depuis le MAI (Music Academy International). En 1992, il est endorsé par la marque de guitares Ibanez qui lui fabrique un modèle fretless signature. À la suite de cela, il est invité à participer à l'enregistrement du CD “Fretless Guitar Masters” (Guitar Nine Records), puis de “Village of the Unfretted” (Unfretted Records). À partir de ce moment là, il sera considéré comme une référence dans le monde de la guitare Fretless.

 
 

Toujours en 1992, Yannick est invité au festival de guitare de Vittel, pour lequel le Ministère de la Culture lui commande 240 cordes de fièvre, une création pour quarante guitares. Il se produit en concert en compagnie de Scott Henderson. À partir de 1994, il partage la scène avec Alain Caron, André Charlier, Michel Cusson, Jean-Marc Jafet, André Ceccarelli.

En 1995, il devient directeur pédagogique des écoles de guitare Ibanez, le premier réseau de ce type en France, qui compte aujourd’hui une trentaine d’écoles. Parallèlement, il accroît son activité d’enseignant en participant à des stages et masterclasses dans toute la France, et en publiant de nombreuses méthodes, vidéos, ouvrages et articles pédagogiques. Il est aujourd’hui Directeur de collection aux éditions ID Musique, Lemoine et Carish.

En 1998 il enregistre un album en duo avec le bassiste Benoît Vandertsraeten, “Dix Cordes de Nuit” (dist. Guitar Euroshop). En 2000, il se produit au Canada avec le vibraphoniste Peter Appleyard et en 2001 il forme un nouveau quartet avec André Charlier, Daniel Yvinek et le flûtiste/saxophoniste Bobby Rangell, avec lequel il enregistre “Maid of the Mist” (dist. Guitar Euroshop).

 
 

A partir de 2003, Yannick tourne avec Franck Agulhon, Benoît Vandertsraeten et enregistre “Vaci Utca” (Muséa Records), un album qui mélange jazz-fusion et musique celtique. Yannick est un des rares musiciens au monde à avoir exploré et pratiqué le “Jazz Celtique”.

 
 

Il forme ensuite le trio “When pop goes to Jazz”, sur un répertoire d’arrangements de musique Pop/Rock, en compagnie du contrebassiste Rémy Chaudagne et du batteur Jean-Marc Robin; puis le groupe “Urban Celtic” avec Franck Agulhon, Benoît Vanderstraeten et l’incroyable flûtiste à bec Benoît Sauvé.

En 2009 et 2010 il tourne avec la saxophoniste Céline Bonacina et son Alefa Quartet, puis démarre son nouveau projet “The Blues & Beyond Quartet” avec l’harmoniciste Sébastien Charlier, le bassiste Dominique Di Piazza et le batteur Yoann Schmidt. Ils participent au Festival de Blues d’Arkhangelsk, et à de nombreux Festivals en France. Leur premier album “La danse du chat” sort en Septembre 2011, et le second “Echec et Malt” enregistré aux Real World Studios de Peter Gabriel, en novembre 2013. Ce sera l'occasion d'une tournée mondiale qui passera par la Russie, l'Europe, l'océan Indien et l'Asie.

En 2012 il participe au Ciné-concert “The Artist” avec l'orchestre Symphonique de Strasbourg et le compositeur Ludovic Bource au piano.